First Grade

This year in first grade we will continue to implement a globally minded, inquiry-based approach to teaching our curriculum, and follow the PYP or Primary Years Programme. We promote an inquiry-based approach to teaching and the following 3-questions will be at the heart of our instruction: What do we want to learn? How do we learn best? How will we know what we have learned?

We will hold a Morning Meeting each day to help foster our sense of classroom community as well as develop individual self-awareness through Second Step lessons. Guided Reading and Guided Math will be conducted daily in order to enrich and/or remediate standards taught. We utilize the Letterland program for Phonics. We are excited to be adding the Heggerty program to supplement and further student instruction and growth.

We will explore six units of inquiry this year.  Each unit has a science and/or social studies focus with Language Arts and Math infused throughout the unit.

The First Grade Units of Inquiry are:

  • How We Organize Ourselves
  • Where We Are In Place and Time
  • Who We Are
  • How We Express Ourselves
  • How the World Works
  • Sharing the Planet

First Grade Teachers

Brenda Beard
brenda_beard@iss.k12.nc.us

Kerri Layne
kerri_layne@iss.k12.nc.us

Brianne Lewis
brianne_lewis@iss.k12.nc.us

Christine Pannenbacker
cpannenbacker@iss.k12.nc.us

Kristy Simko 
ksimko@iss.k12.nc.us

Stephanie Stone
stephanie_stone@iss.k12.nc.us

Eleather Weston
eleather_weston@iss.k12.nc.us

 

 

First Grade Supply List